WSOPE 2011 – €10,400 Split NL Day 1 complete; 72 survivors.

WSOPE 2011 – €10,400 Split NL Day 1 complete; 72 survivors.

Thursday, 13 October 2011

The inaugural Split NL, or “Mix-Max” event of the WSOPE 2011 kicked off yesterday with a stacked field of 125 players putting up €10,400 to create a seven-figure prize pool. Dennis Bejedal leads the chip counts into Day 2 having built up to 153,700 but he has stiff competition.

In second place in the chip counts is Michael Mizrachi, on 140,300. He is closely followed by both Tom Dwan and Freddy Deeb with Joel Nordkvist, Peter Jetten and Brian Hastings all also making it into the top ten chip counts of the 72 remaining players.

It took several levels of play at full ring tables to reduce the field from 125 to 72. Today, the 72 players will gather around twelve 6-max tables and play down to the money bubble and the final 16. Tomorrow and the next day, the last 16 will compete heads-up for the bracelet.

Other notable survivors of Day 1 include Cliff Josephy, Jason Mercier, Dan Fleyshman, Erik Seidel, Andrew Robl and Isaac Haxton. All return with an above-average chip count.

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: WSOPE 2011, Tom Dwan, Durrrr, Freddy Deeb, Michael Mizrachi, Jason Mercier, Erik Seidel