Mortensen, Moorman and Chan near top of Main Event chip counts

Mortensen, Moorman and Chan near top of Main Event chip counts

Sunday, 16 October 2011

The move to Cannes appears to have really paid dividends for the World Series of Poker Europe with a huge field of 310 taking their seats for the first of two opening flights on Saturday. To put that into perspective the previous biggest field for the WSOPE Main Event in London was 362 and we've still got another opening flight to go.

Railbirds looking for big names at the top of the leader board weren't disappointed either with former World Champions Carlos Mortensen 157,000 and Johnny Chan 108,000 both accumulating big stacks. Irishman Dermot Blain is handily place on 122,000 with Chris Moorman heading the British challenge on 121,000.

Also amongst the 173 opening flight survivors Erik Seidel, Hoyt Corkins, Will Failla, Barny Boatman, Sam Holden and John Duthie. Phil Hellmuth was the highest profile bust out. Joining the Poker Brat on the rail were Tom Dwan, Justin Bonomo and Joseph Cheong.

Mizrachi takes five

Event #5, the Split Format Championship also drew to a close on Saturday with Michael 'The Grinder' Mizrachi beating Shawn Buchanan to the bracelet. The Split Format event started with nine-handed tables, moved to six-handed action before moving into heads up when the field was reduced to 16.

The Grinder was in bullish when asked about how many WSOP bracelets he thinks he could win in the future. “I think I will definitely win double digits (at least ten). But I hope for twenty. When I run good, nobody can beat me. And I play all the games pretty well. I might be sitting there with a cane and can barely walk, but I think I can get to twenty.”

Boucher king of PLO

The penultimate bracelet of the 2011 WSOPE was also won yesterday with Philippe Boucher winning the Six-Handed PLO title. The Canadian pocketed €124,584 after defeating a final table that included the UK's Jack Ellwood (who finished sixth for €19,181) and Jared Solomon.

Tags: WSOPE 2011, Johnny Chan, Carlos Mortensen, Chris Moorman, Michael Mizrachi, Philippe Boucher