WSOPE: Main Event Day 1b Summary

WSOPE: Main Event Day 1b Summary

Monday, 29 September 2008

As you expect from the lead event in European poker, all of the game's celebrities were out in force, with some of the biggest names ending up with the biggest stacks too.

Among those who joined the field on Day 1b were 2007 WSOPE Main Event Champion Annette Obrestad, 10-time WSOP bracelet winner Doyle Brunson, 2008 WSOP HORSE winner Scotty Nguyen and the most recent bracelet winner, PLO Champion Theo Jorgensen. There won't be a successful defence by Miss Obrestad though as she was eliminated when her pocket kings were cracked by the Ace-Queen of Marco Traniello.

The 97 survivors included David ‘Raptor’ Benefield and Brian ‘sbrugby’ Townsend from CardRunners, Roland de Wolfe, Dave ‘Devilfish’ Ulliott, Joe Beevers, Chris Ferguson, Doyle Brunson and Daniel Negreanu who, with 154,050 finished holding the chip lead.

Tags: Poker News, WSOPE:, Main, Event, Day, 1b, Summary