WSOP 2011 – Sean Getzwiller wins Event #8 $1,000 NL

WSOP 2011 – Sean Getzwiller wins Event #8 $1,000 NL

Thursday, 9 June 2011

We were within one heads-up battle of taking bracelet number three back to Blighty in Las Vegas last night but were unfortunately denied by Sean Getzwiller, who defeated Sadan Turker heads-up for the title of the $1,000 No-Limit Hold ‘em event and $611,185 plus the appropriate jewellery.

This was one of the largest fields of this or any WSOP with 4,178 players putting up a grand to enter and all but 428 of them leaving empty-handed. The final table began with Sadan Turker leading and Jon “PearlJammer” Turner, online MTT crusher extraordinaire, the one to watch. Mid-way through the players had to be moved underneath dimmer lights due to a manufacturing error on the cards; the four of spades was clearly visible under bright lights at all times.

Eventually, Turner fell in third place which left Turker and Getzwiller to battle it out heads-up for over six hours before finally it came down to a coinflip. Turker got it in with Ah-9s against Getzwiller’s pocket fives; the J-4-5 flop pretty much sealed the deal with Getzwiller avoiding nasty runner-runner combinations.

Sadan Turker would have been the third British player in eight events to take home a WSOP bracelet but he will have to settle for runner-up and the not-too-shabby consolation prize of $377,411.

The full final table payouts were as follows:

1.Sean Getzwiller $611,185
2.Sadan Turker $377,411
3.Jon Turner $274,005
4.Max Weinberg $201,433
5.Stefan Raffay $149,392
6.Lawrence Riley $111,753
7.Hunter Frey $84,341
8.Daniel Haglund $64,186
9.Odette Tremblay $49,258

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: WSOP 2011, event #8 $1, 000 No-Limit Hold'em, Sean Getzwiller, Sadan Turker, Jon Turner