Huck Seed wins 2010 WSOP Tournament of Champions

Huck Seed wins 2010 WSOP Tournament of Champions

Monday, 5 July 2010

Must be nice to take down a million dollar freeroll – Huck Seed has won the 2010 World Series of Poker Tournament of Champions, beating Howard Lederer to first place after a three-day slog towards the final table.

Originally 27 of poker’s biggest names – well, 26 and one online qualifier – began the event but the final table was formed two days later, with some stiff opposition to anyone who wanted the $500,000 first prize. Annie Duke, Jen Harman, Daniel Negreanu, TJ Cloutier, Johnny Chan, Barry Greenstein, Joe Hachem, Erik Seidel and Huck Seed were the final nine in play.

Seidel bubbled the nine payout spots before, in the money guaranteed $25,000, TJ “Cookier” Cloutier was the first to bust, followed by the ladies. It then seemed to be a bad period for Team PokerStars Pros as Negreanu, Greenstein and Hachem busted in sixth, fifth and fourth respectively, all earning $25,000.

That left us with Lederer, Chan and Seed going against each other for the $400,000 difference between third and first place. Chan called an all-in with his small stack holding 75o, which couldn’t outdo The Professor’s J9 on a jack-high board. That left Lederer and Seed to duke it out with the former holding a slight chip advantage.

However, when Seed got it in behind holding 9c-6c to Lederer’s TT on a six-high board it looked like the Full Tilt bossman would be taking it down. Unfortunately for him Seed nailed a runner-runner straight to double up and cripple Lederer.

Shortly afterwards, Lederer moved in with Qc-8c and found himself called by Seed with As-2s. The best hand held, smacking an A on the river for good measure and giving Seed $500,000; Lederer is now $250,000 richer.

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: Poker News, Huck, Seed, wins, 2010, WSOP, Tournament, of, Champions