Daniel Alaei wins $10,000 PLO Championship

Daniel Alaei wins $10,000 PLO Championship

Monday, 5 July 2010

Despite the pre-final table day of the penultimate $10,000 World Championship event being packed to the rafters with big PLO names making deep runs – Devilfish, Tom Dwan and Jason Mercier to name but a few – the final table was a fairly low-key affair with Daniel Alaei the biggest name pro at the table.

Fitting, then, that he should beat off competition from PokerStars Pros Ludovic Lacay and Alexander Krevchenko to win his third World Series of Poker bracelet and $780,599 for his four-day PLO grind.

The last hand began innocuously enough with a limp-check pre-flop and a check call from runner-up Miguel Proulx on the Ts-9h-5c board. On the 2c turn it kicked off, with Alaei betting 900,000 and Proulx check-raising all-in. The seasoned pro called and flipped up 7s-6c-5s-5h for bottom set and a gutshot straight draw; Proulx could only muster up Ac-Kh-Th-2h for top-and-bottom pair with no redraws, dead to one of two tens in the deck. He didn’t hit it and that was that.

The full final table payouts were as follows:
1. Daniel Alaei $780,599
2. Miguel Proulx $482,265
3. Ville Mattila $354,218
4. Ludovic Lacay $262,208
5. Trevor Uyesugi $195,631
6. Stephen Pierson $147,138
7. Dmitry Stelmak $111,524
8. Alexander Kravchenko $85,180
9. Matthew Wheat $65,568

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: Poker News, Daniel, Alaei, wins, $10, 000, PLO, Championship