WSOP unveils Poker Hall of Fame nominees

WSOP unveils Poker Hall of Fame nominees

Friday, 14 September 2012

After a public nomination process, the World Series of Poker has revealed the ten people that have been shortlisted to enter Poker Hall of Fame as the 2012 class.

The list includes some very familiar names and some lesser known faces and covers a wide timespan from 40 years ago to the present day. There's an international flavour to this year's shortlisted candidates too with representatives from Sweden, Norway, Vietnam and China as well as the USA.

Four of the ten, John Juanda, Jennifer Harman, Scotty Nguyen and Tom McEvoy, were nominated in 2011 with the six remaining candidates featuring for the first time. That half dozen includes London-based Swede and WSOP cashing machine Chris Bjorin, Norwegian Thor Hansen, poker player and TV guru Eric Drache, the Bicycle Casino's George Hardie, longtime pro David Chiu and 1975 WSOP Main Event winner Brian 'Sailor' Roberts.

The final two will be decided by 18 living Hall of Fame members and an 18-person media panel later this month.

The successful candidate must meet the following criteria

• A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
• Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
• Played for high stakes
• Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
• Stood the test of time
• Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

The 2012 Hall of Fame entrants will be announced during the final table of the WSOP Main Event next month.

Tags: WSOP, Hall of Fame, John Juanda, Jennifer Harman, Scotty Nguyen, Chris Bjorin