WSOP 2011 schedule announced

WSOP 2011 schedule announced

Tuesday, 25 January 2011

The 42nd edition of the World Series of Poker will feature a total of 58 events running over 50 days from 31 May until 19 July.

As usual the casino employees will have the honour of opening the WSOP but the real stuff will kick off with a $25,000 Heads Up No Limit Hold'em Championship, the first of twelve designated 'Championship' events. With a capped field of 256 runners the first open event winner should walk away with a $1.5m first prize.

Organisers have made a couple of new additions to the tournament schedule including a $5,000 Pot Limit Omaha event and intriguingly, a $2,500 Ten Game Mix event that includes no-limit hold’em, seven-card razz, limit hold’em, limit Badugi, seven-card stud, no-limit deuce-to-seven draw lowball, Omaha eight-or-better, pot-limit Omaha, limit deuce-to-seven triple draw lowball, and seven-card stud eight-or-better.

The Chip Reese Memorial Trophy will once again be up for grabs in the $50,000 Players' Championship. Rather than opening the WSOP, this year's Players' Championship will be at the tail end of the series, just before the Main Event.

Players with smaller bankrolls will also be well catered for with five $1,000 NL Hold'em events scheduled, the first of which will take place on the opening weekend (4/5 June).

As usual the grand finale will be the World Series of Poker Main Event. This year's big one will commence on Thursday 7 July with the final table set on 19 July. The finalists will once again for a November Nine showdown starting on 5 November.

The full scheduled can be found by clicking here.

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: Poker News, WSOP, 2011, schedule, announced