WPT World Poker Finals at Foxwoods begin today

WPT World Poker Finals at Foxwoods begin today

Thursday, 27 October 2011

The World Poker Tour World Poker Finals have returned to Foxwoods this week with the $10,000 Main Event beginning at noon local time today. One of the oldest events on the WPT circuit, it was first won in 2002 by – how’s this for poker history – Howard Lederer.

Last year, 242 players created a prize pool of more than $1.4m with Jeffrey Forrest taking down the top prize, defeating David Inselberg heads-up to win $548,752.

In previous years, champions have included Cornel Cimpan, who beat 353 players in 2009 to win $910,058; Jonathan Little beat Jonathan Jaffe after beating 412 players to win $1.12m in 2008. Howard Lederer won the first event in 2002, beating a field of 89; Hoyt Corkins beat 313 players the next year. The biggest winner at the World Poker Finals was Nick Schulman who beat a field of 783 players to win $2.16m.

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: WPT Foxwoods, Cornel Cimpan, Jonathan Little, Nick Schulman, Jeff Forrest, Cornel Cimpan, Hoyt Corkins,