Vitaly Lunkin named European Player of the Year

Vitaly Lunkin named European Player of the Year

Monday, 15 February 2010

The awards season is in full swing and European poker’s equivalent of the Oscars took place in Paris last Friday.

Vitaly Lunkin took the top honour, claiming the prestigious Player of the Year award at the glittering ceremony at the Aviation Club in Paris.

The other big winners on the night included Germany’s Sandra Naujoks who was named Europe’s Leading Lady ahead of Kara Scott and Lynne Beaumont. Antoine Saout won the Rookie of the Year award with triple WSOP bracelet winner Jeff Lisandro taking the award for Outstanding Tournament Performance of the Year.

Patrik Antonius beat out challenges from Chris Moorman, Jude Ainsworth, Ziigmund and ElkY to claim the Internet Player of the Year award with Austria’s Edgar Stuchly beating Dusk Till Dawn’s Simon Trumper and BoylePoker’s Paul Spillane to the Poker Staff Person of the Year Award.

The awards are the hors d'oeuvres to the European Finals of Poker series, which takes place in the French capital this week. Dave Ulliott will be back at the Aviation Club to defend the title. The Devilfish collected a first prize of €152,000 after outlasting a field of 152 runners in last year’s event.

Tags: Poker News, Vitaly, Lunkin, named, European, Player, of, the, Year