Trickett the big winner at The British Poker Awards

Trickett the big winner at The British Poker Awards

Tuesday, 18 September 2012

What a 12 months it has been for Sam Trickett. Over the space of a year the Nottinghamshire pro has won the Partouche Poker Tour Main Event, pocketed almost $1m at the Macau High Stakes Challenge, won millions at the Macau cash tables and of course scooped $10m at the Big One for One Drop at this year's WSOP.

Sam now has some trophies to put on the mantelpiece too after scooping three gongs at last night's British Poker Awards. The biggest cash winner in UK poker history won both the Best Cash Player and Best Tournament Player honours which were voted by the public. The judging panel made up of representatives from Bluff Europe, and as well as the 'Voice of Poker' Jesse May also named Trickett overall Player of the Year.

Other notables winners at last night's lavish ceremony on board HMS President were Vanessa Selbst who was named the Best International Player and Chris Moorman who was voted the Best Online Player. WSOP bracelet winner Craig McCorkell won the Breakthrough Player Award with Liv Boeree voted Poker Personality of the Year. The ever entertaining Neil Channing won Best Blogger / Social Media User of the year.

Simon Trumper's efforts were rewarded with a pro panel naming Dusk Till Dawn the Best Cardroom and Trumper himself the Best Card Room Manager. Toby Stone was named Best Tournament Director with the UKIPT's Kirsty Thompson honoured with making the Biggest Contribution to Growing and Promoting Poker.

The full list of winners can be seen below:

Reader’s Choice

Best Cash Player: Sam Trickett
Best Tournament Player: Sam Trickett
Best Online Player: Chris Moorman
Poker Personality of the Year: Liv Boeree
Best Poker Forum:
Best UK Tournament: UKIPT Nottingham
Best Card Room Restaurant: The Vic
Best Card Room Bar: The Palm Beach
Best Poker Blogger / Soc Media: Neil Channing
Best Poker League: Champions Poker League
Biggest Contribution to Growing and Promoting Poker: Kirsty Thompson (UKIPT)

Pro’s Choice:

Best Card Room – Dusk Till Dawn
Best Card Room Manager – Simon Trumper
Best Tournament Director – Toby Stone

Panel’s Choice

Breakthrough Player of the Year: Craig McCorkell
Best International Player: Vanessa Selbst
Player of the Year: Sam Trickett

Tags: British Poker Awards, Sam Trickett, Vanessa Selbst, Chris Moorman, Craig McCorkell, Dusk Till Dawn, Liv Boeree, Neil Channing