Timoshenko wins $25K WPT Championship

Timoshenko wins $25K WPT Championship

Monday, 27 April 2009

After an epic eight days of play Yevgeniy Timoshenko has been crowned the 2009 Five Star World Poker Classic World Poker Tour Champion. The 21-year-old saw off a final table which included Scotty Nguyen, Bertrand ‘ElkY’ Grospellier, Shannon Shorr and Ran Azor to claim the first prize of $2,149,960.

Timoshenko, who held the chip leading going into the last day, dominated the six-man final table and after 81 hands of heads up play the Ukranian born American's Broadway straight beat runner up Ran Azor's top pair to take the title.

The final positions and payouts were as follows:
Yevgeniy Timoshenko -- $2,149,960
Ran Azor -- $1,446,265
Bertrand Grospellier -- $776,245
Christian Harder -- $571,965
Shannon Shorr -- $408,550
Scotty Nguyen -- $285,985

Betrand Grospellier’s third place finish saw him overtake John Phan at the top of the WPT Player of the Year rankings. He joins the exclusive club of Howard Lederer, Erick Lindgren, Daniel Negreanu, Gavin Smith, JC Tran and Jonathan Little who have also won this prestigious title.

Next stop for Timoshenko is Monte Carlo for the PokerStars EPT Grand Final. Now that he is old enough to play there Vegas is also very much in the 21-year-old’s plans "I'm probably going to play a lot at the World Series. I'd really like a World Series of Poker bracelet."

Tags: Poker News, Timoshenko, wins, $25K, WPT, Championship