Tim Hartmann wins Irish Winter Festival

Tim Hartmann wins Irish Winter Festival

Wednesday, 31 October 2012

Tim Hartmann has been crowned 2012’s paddypowerpoker.com Irish Winter Festival. The German outlasted a 385-runner field in Dublin to scoop a first prize of €100,000.

Hartmann started the final table with a big chip lead and kept up the pressure throughout, working his way through a final nine that included Julian Thew, who busted after running into Hartmann’s aces.

It was left to Patryk Pietnoczko to try and derail the Hartmnann express but despite putting up a valiant fight and prolonging heads up play to three hours, the Pole couldn’t overturn an initial 6 to 1 chip deficit.

Pietnoczko looked well placed for a timely double up after getting it in with A8 against Hartmann’s A4. A 4 on the flop changed everything though and gave the German youngster the title and a six-figure score.

The final table positions and payouts were as follows:

1st – Tim Hartmann – €100,000
2nd – Patryk Pietnoczko – €56,500
3rd – Ronan Gilligan – €35,000
4th – Julian Thew – €28,350
5th – Marc McDonnell – €22,300
6th – Jay O Toole – €18,300
7th – Daniele Nestola – €14,400
8th – Ahmed Eydan – €11,400
9th – Trevor Dineen – €8,400

Tags: Tim Harmann, Patryk Pietnoczko, Julian Thew