Scott Seiver wins WPT Championship

Scott Seiver wins WPT Championship

Saturday, 21 May 2011

Season IX of the World Poker Tour drew to a close last night with Scott Seiver taking the $25,000 WPT Championship event at Bellagio.

The 26-year-old pocketed a first prize of $1,618,344 and a seat in next year's WPT Championship event after outlasting a high class final table that included Justin Young, Tony Gargano and Roger Teska. After PCA winner Galen Hall was eliminated in third it was left to Farzad Bonyadi to try and halt the Seiver express.

He couldn't manage it though, hitting the buffers when his two pair ran into Seiver's straight. A seven-figure score should provide Bonyadi plenty of consolation though.

Seiver, primarily a cash game player, now has career tournament earnings of over $4.5m.

The final table positions and payouts were as follows:

1. Scott Seiver — $1,618,344
2. Farzad Bonyadi — $1,061,900
3. Galen Hall — $589,355
4. Roger Teska — $371,665
5. Tony Gargano — $278,749
6. Justin Young — $225,654

There's not long to wait for the start of the new World Poker Tour season. The season X action gets under way in Barcelona this Wednesday.

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: WPT Championship, Scott Seiver, Galen Hall, Farzad Bonyadi, Roger Teska, Tony Gargano, Justin Young