Salsberg Chases Back to Back Paris Titles

Salsberg Chases Back to Back Paris Titles

Monday, 28 October 2013

Matthew Salsberg will certainly never forget Paris. The TV producer turned poker star's win at last year's WPT Grand Prix de Paris kicked off an amazing run that eventually saw him crowned World Poker Tour Player of the Year.

The American is up to his old tricks again this time round and leads the field of 65 runners that are still remaining in the 2013 event at the Aviation Club. Salsberg closed Day 2 in first place with a stack of 212,600. The only other player to crack the 200,000 chip mark was Hicham Hilmi who followed great opening day with another solid performance. The Frenchman will be back with 200,700.

Other notables who will be back today include David Peters (171,200), Todd Terry (134,100), Andrei Demidov (132,300) and Marvin Rettenmaier (128,300). Further back are the likes of Jason Koon (76,400), Kara Scott (73,300), Shawn Buchanan (51,200), David 'Devilfish' Ulliott (37,000), Barry Greenstein (35,200) and Tony G (24,500).

John Juanda and Phil Laak were the most high profile departures on day 2. Others to exit included Ole Schemion, Steve O'Dwyer and Antoine Saout.

16 entries before the start of play yesterday meant a total field of 187 runners. 21 of them will make the money with the min-cash set at $20,250. The final six are all guaranteed $90,845 with the winner walking away $469,477 to the good.

The chip leaders are as follows:

1. Matt Salsberg – 212,600
2. Hicham Hilmi – 200,700
3. Vaslil Firsau – 193,300
4. Connor Drinan – 175,000
5. David Peters – 171,200
6. Dimitri Holdeew – 142,700
7. Andrei Demidov – 140,00
8. Kimmo Kurko – 139,700
9. Philippe Ktorza – 139,300
10. Bernard Gulgon – 134,600

Tags: WPT Grand Prix de Paris, Matthew Salsberg, Dave Ulliott, Barry Greenstein