Rob Taylor Un-Corks A Win at Irish Poker Classic

Rob Taylor Un-Corks A Win at Irish Poker Classic

Wednesday, 27 August 2008

The sixth annual €150,000 guaranteed Irish Poker Festival at the Macau Sporting Club, Cork has been won by Irishman Rob Taylor who collected the €46,000 for his victory in the €1,500 + €100 no limit hold’em freezeout event.

It wasn’t an easy feat either, after the tournament attracted a record 169 players, up significantly from 114 last year. It included come seriously tough players too, some of which didn’t come just for the Guinness. Those who tried to stop Taylor included Annette Obrestad, Michael Greco, Ian Woodley, Roy Brindley, Marty Smyth, Jeff Duval, Sylvester Geoghegan, and Mick McCloskey.

Going into the final table, Duvall was in great shape to win the title, taking 455,000 chips as the overnight leader. It didn’t prove to be Duvall’s day though, as he went out in fifth after losing a coin flip with Ace-Ten against pocket threes.

The final four then struck a deal for the remaining prize pool and Power got busy again, this time against Taylor, but the runner-runner on the turn and river saw his jack-high flush beaten by Taylor’s ace-high flush.
Taylor’s 4-4 then held strong against O’Donoghue’s A-10, before the Irishman swept away Frenchman la Rochelle heads up.

The final table payouts were:

1. Rob Taylor €46,000
2. Oliver la Rochelle € 47,500
3. Ryan O'Donoghue €38,250
4. Nicky Power €41,250
5. Jeff Duvall €15,000
6. Jonathan Butter s €12,500
7. Mick O'Brien €10,000
8. Ben Blackmore €7,500
9. Paul Corrway €5,000
10. Michael McKeever €4,000

Tags: Poker News, Rob, Taylor, Un-Corks, A, Win, at, Irish, Poker, Classic,