Poker Hall of Fame nominees announced

Poker Hall of Fame nominees announced

Friday, 3 September 2010

The list of potential candidates to enter the Poker Hall of Fame has been announced with ten players in with a chance this year.

The full list of contenders is as follows:

Chris Ferguson
Barry Greenstein
Jennifer Harman-Traniello
Dan Harrington
Phil Ivey
Linda Johnson
Tom McEvoy
Daniel Negreanu
Scotty Nguyen
Erik Seidel

The list bears a striking similarity to last year's nomination ballot with seven players appearing on both. The new additions this time around are Chris Ferguson, Jennifer Harman and Linda Johnson. The early money appears to be on Erik Seidel to join last year's inductee, Mike Sexton in the Hall. The field is wide open for the second potential entrant though. Scotty Nguyen's beer fuelled antics may have hurt his chances and Daniel Negreanu's 'C U Next Tuesday' remarks aimed at Annie Duke may have blotted his copybook.

Eagle eyed viewers will see that Tom Dwan and Men Nguyen are the names who were on last year's ballot who are missing time. Despite his fine achievements Durrrr doesn't yet meet the “standing the test of time” criteria.

The final decision will be made by the 16 living members of the Poker Hall of Fame plus 17 members of the poker media. This year, a nominee will need to gain 50% rather than 75% of votes in order to gain their place.

The initial long list of names was nominated by members of the public with 102 players given recognition. The chosen one (or two) will be honoured at a special ceremony during the November Nine extravaganza at the World Series of Poker.

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: Poker News, Poker, Hall, of, Fame, nominees, announced