Pantling leads Laak and Tann at WSOPE Event 1 final table

Pantling leads Laak and Tann at WSOPE Event 1 final table

Thursday, 16 September 2010

The 2010 World Series of Poker Europe has gotten off to a roaring start. Not only did we see a prize pool of over half a million pounds for the opening six-handed NL event but the action was fast and furious with Praz Bansi and Chris Moorman building stacks over a day that reduced 244 entrants to 31.

Yesterday those 31 played down to the final six in another day full of big hands and big bluffs with the bubble bursting in the most brutal way for Javed Abrahams, who made the nut flush on a four-diamond board holding the ace only to see his opponent’s straight flush. Amazingly EPT San Remo champion Liv Boeree departed in 19th place just 15 minutes later on the same table when her A-K rivered the nut flush and lost to a straight flush for her second five-figure dollar cash of the week after the EPO.

She set a precedent for home heroes being sent to the rail, unfortunately; Praz Bansi was out in 11th straight after British online champion Chris “moorman1” Moorman in 12th. Perhaps the Brunson 10 member with $5.5m in online cashes could have gone further had he not overslept and missed the first two blind levels.

John Tabatabi, bracelet bubbler in the inaugural WSOPE, was the final table bubble boy here when he ran AKs into Swedish Chris Bjorin’s AA. This final table appearance also marks Bjorin’s record-breaking fifth WSOPE event cash.

The familiar face at the final table is of course Phil Laak, still sporting a Union Jack cast and a red Mohawk after his quad bike crash several weeks ago. He has a slightly above-average stack in third place but trails Chris Bjorin and Canadian EPT heads-up champion Andrew Pantling. Old school London poker player Willie Tann nursed a shortstack well throughout the day to sneak onto the final table with 18BBs when they return with blinds at 2,000/4,000/500.

The final table chip counts are as follows:
1.Andrew Pantling – 627,500
2.Chris Bjorin – 368,500
3.Phil Laak – 317,000
4.David Peters – 251,500
5.Ilan Rouah – 200,000
6.Willie Tann – 72,000

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: Poker News, Pantling, leads, Laak, and, Tann, at, WSOPE, Event, 1, final, table