Omar Zazay Clinches SHRPO Main Event

Omar Zazay Clinches SHRPO Main Event

Thursday, 20 August 2015

Last night saw Omar Zazay grind his way past more than 900 other players including a prolonged heads-up battle with Brian Phillis to win the main event of the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open (SHRPO).

Despite cutting its guarantee to $5 million this year, the organisers weren't able to attract enough runners to cover the prizepool. Falling $600,000 short of their target meant the casino had to make up the difference. However, the 907 players who did take part in the tournament were impressed with the event.

Offering a decent structure and a generous prizepool meant many of the game's elite were out in force looking for a win. Naturally, however, only one cold walk away with a victory and that man was Zazay.

Going into the final table with a healthy chip stack, Zazay looked like a good bet for the title. But, it was his heads-up opponent, local poker dealer Phillis, that had the support of the rail. Unfortunately for the hometown hero, this support couldn't help him get over the line as he ultimately fell to Zazay in the final stages.

Despite battling hard for more than 100 hands, Phillis fell at the last when his A-5 couldn't catch a break against Zazay's A-6. With the event over and Zazay $1 million richer, the crowds dispersed as the new champion gave the media his thoughts on the tournament and his victory.

"It's an amazing feeling," said Zazay.

"This is very huge for me. It's been a lot of hard work. I played a lot of poker and come up short lots of times and feel like I can do better so it's good to accomplish a big title under my belt."

Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Main Event Result:

1. Omar Zazay – $1,000,000

2. Brian Phillis – $575,000

3. Dan Colman – $310,000

4. Larry Mocchia – $220,000

5. Randy Pfeifer – $180,000

6. Joseph Couden – $150,000

7. Vladislav Mezheritsky - $125,000

8. Paul Volpe – $100,000

9. Rick Alvarado – $75,000

Tags: Omar Zazay, Brian Phillis, Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open, Larry Mocchia, Randy Pfeifer, Joseph Couden, SHRPO, Vladislav Mezheritsky, Dan Colman, Paul Volpe, Rick Alvarado