Newcastle Success For Nathan Farnaby

Newcastle Success For Nathan Farnaby

Tuesday, 23 February 2016

The latest leg of the Grand Prix Poker Tour took place over the weekend and saw British competitor Nathan Farnaby transform his $109 buy-in into a $35,000 pay-day.

A product of partypoker and Nottingham casino Dusk Till Dawn, the Grand Prix Poker Tour held its most recent event at St James Park, which is the home stadium of English Premier League soccer side Newcastle United, and saw 246 runners make it through to the second day of action.

The $250,000 guaranteed main event saw Farnaby defeat Brazilian Thales Salomao heads-up while every one of the competitors that made it as far as the second day were additionally handed a $109 ticket for an upcoming Grand Prix Poker Tour event of their choice.

As the number of runners continued to dwindle, all eyes were on Sunil ‘Sunny’ Mistri as the Englishman was still in with a realistic chance of completing a memorable double after winning the previous Grand Prix Poker Tour event held at London’s Stamford Bridge. However, he was eventually eliminated in tenth spot after he pushed all in from the small blind with a J9 only to see this defeated by a QJ.

Although Salomao started the final table brightly with the eliminations of Lee Kipling and Bryan Tismond, Farnaby soon gathered momentum and knocked out Darren Knaggs and David Ridout before adding the scalp of Nadeem Hussain to his collection soon after.

This flurry of action ensured that Farnaby began heads-up play holding 27 million chips to Salomao’s eight million and he only had to wait a few hands before claiming the rest. After his opponent moved all-in with 9s 8s, Farnaby made the call with Jh Td while a ten-high flop made matters official.

The next stop on the Grand Prix Poker Tour calendar is a $109 buy-in online event at partypoker on March 20 featuring a guaranteed prize pool of $250,000 while the land-based action resumes on April 9 from Elland Road in Leeds.

Grand Prix Poker Tour Newcastle Results:

1 Nathan Farnaby - $35,000

2 Thales Salomao - $24,000

3 Nadeem Hussain - $16,000

4 Peter Craw - $12,000

5 Darren Knaggs - $9,000

6 David Ridout - $6,500

7 James Ablott - $5,000

8 Bryan Tismond - $4,000

9 Lee Kipling - $3,000

Photo courtesy of partypoker

Tags: Grand Prix Poker Tour, partypoker, Dusk Till Dawn, Nathan Farnaby, Thales Salomao, Nadeem Hussain, Sunil Mistri, Peter Craw, Darren Knaggs, David Ridout, James Ablott, Bryan Tismond, Lee Kipling