New category added to British Poker Awards

New category added to British Poker Awards

Monday, 20 August 2012

As well as being able to vote online for your favourite players and poker personalities in categories such as “Best Tournament Player”, “Best Cash Player” and “Best Online Player”, organisers of the British Poker Awards have announced a special new category designed to honour those tirelessly promoting poker behind the scenes.

Nominees for the “Biggest contribution to growing and promoting poker” award are now open to the public vote at, and include organisers and promoters all of whom have made a valuable contribution to the vibrant health of the UK poker scene.

Nominees are Gary Oakes / Kevin Proctor, creators of the Genting Poker Series; Kirsty Thompson, the woman behind the UKIPT; Mike Lacey, of D4 Events, creator of the European Deepstack Events; Rich Prew, of BlondePoker, APAT, and the Sky Poker Tour; Russell Tamplin of the GUKPT; Simon Tomsett of Palm Beach Big Game; Tony Kendall, of Sky Poker, BlondePoker and APAT; and SimonTrumper, at Dusk Till Dawn, Nottingham.

Organiser Michael Caselli said, “It’s great to be able to honour not just the stars of the game, but also who work so hard within this industry to promote and grow the game. It’s because of them that UK poker is in such robust health at the moment.”

The ceremony itself will be held on 17th September 2012 on board the HMS President, moored on the Victoria Embankment on the Thames. Tickets are available here for £20.

Tags: The British Poker Awards