NBC National Heads Up Championship line up revealed

NBC National Heads Up Championship line up revealed

Wednesday, 24 February 2010

Huck Seed will face some extremely tough competition as he attempts to retain his Heads Up crown.

Organisers have announced the 64 players who will be battling for this year's National Heads Up Championship. The field includes no fewer than 12 former WSOP Main Event champions, numerous bracelet winners, cash game legends and a sprinkling of celebrities.

There are a few notable names that are missing though. There's no place for recent PartyPoker Premier League winner David Benyamine, WPT Championship Yevgeniy Timoshenko or double WSOP Final Table finisher James Akenhead. Perhaps wanting a quiet life, organisers haven't invited Luke Schwartz either. Double bracelet winner JP Kelly is the only Briton to be invited to the party.

"The lineup of competitors for this year’s event is the best yet,” says Jon Miller, executive vice president of NBC Sports. "Continually bringing together the best of the best to compete in this unique format has made the National Heads-Up Poker Championship one of the most anticipated poker events of the year."

The action takes place at Caesar's Palace in Las Vegas from 5th to 7th March and will be televised later this year. The winner will take home a first prize of $500,000.

The full line up is as follows:

Patrick  Antonius
Eric Baldwin
Andy Bloch
Doyle Brunson *
Joe Cada
Johnny Chan
Don Cheadle
Allen Cunningham
Pieter De-Korver
Annie Duke
Tom Dwan
Peter Eastgate
Eli Elezra
Antonio Esfandiari
Sam Farha
Chris Ferguson
Ted Forrest
Jamie Gold
Phil Gordon
Barry Greenstein
Bertrand Grospellier
Joe Hachem
Gus Hansen
Jennifer Harman
Phil Hellmuth
Orel Hershiser
Jesper  Hougaard
Phil Ivey
John Juanda
Gabe Kaplan
John Paul Kelly
Phil Laak
Howard Lederer
Erick Lindgren
Mike Matusow
Jason Mercier
Dario Minieri
Chris Moneymaker
Darvin Moon
Greg Mueller
Daniel Negreanu
Scotty Nguyen
Annette Obrestad
Brock Parker
Dennis  Phillips
Greg Raymer
Vanessa Rousso
Kara Scott
Huck Seed
Erik Seidel
Mike Sexton
Gavin Smith
Jennifer Tilly
Paul Wasicka
David Williams
Leo Wolpert
Jerry Yang

They will be joined by seven Internet qualifiers.

*Though invited to participate Doyle Brunson won't actually be taking part this year due to health reasons.

Tags: Poker News, NBC, National, Heads, Up, Championship, line, up, revealed