NBC Heads-Up Championship completes first round

NBC Heads-Up Championship completes first round

Friday, 25 January 2013

The initial stage of the NBC Heads-Up Championship took place last night inside Caesars Palace and saw 32 intriguing match-ups halve the starting field of 64 runners.

Each player competed in one of four brackets (Hearts, Diamonds, Spades and Clubs) and was well aware of who they would have to overcome in order to make it into the Las Vegas final.

From the start there were a number of favourites and, true to form, many of these made it through the day. Some of the most notable progressions included Viktor Blom defeating Andrew Lichtenberger, Phil Ivey overcoming Phil Laak and Tom Dwan seeing off Erik Seidel.

The second round of action is due to take place later today and will see the remaining field whittled down to 16 before final few matches are played out on Saturday.

First day NBC Heads-Up Championship winners:

Antonio Esfandiari
Jonathan Duhamel
Chris Moorman
Daniel Cates
Vanessa Rousso
Shaun Deeb
Kyle Julius
Scott Seiver
Barry Greenstein
John Monette
Viktor Blom
Mike Matusow
John Hennigan
Sam Simon
Phil Ivey
Justin Bonomo
Joseph Cheong
Bruce Miller
Phil Galfond
Eugene Katchalov
Justin Smith
Phil Hellmuth
Chris Moneymaker
David Sands
Tom Dwan
Doyle Brunson
Brian Hastings
Eli Elezra
Joe Serock
Huck Seed
Gaelle Baumann
Dan Smith

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: NBC Heads-Up Championship, Viktor Blom, Doyle Brunson, Andrew Lichtenberger, Phil Ivey, Phil Laak, Tom Dwan, Erik Seidel