Mickey Petersen is the English Poker Open champion

Mickey Petersen is the English Poker Open champion

Monday, 24 September 2012

Danish pro Mickey Petersen has been crowned the 2012 English Poker Open champion after beating an absolutely stacked final table at the Fox Poker Club over the weekend. The Team PokerStars pro pocketed a first prize of £78,660 after beating Poker Hall of Fame nominee Chris Bjorin heads up for the title.

Petersen started the day in the middle of the chip counts with Jamie Roberts leading the way. It was EPT Grand Final High Roller winner Igor Kurganov who hit the rail first though, followed soon after by Thomas Laumier and 2011 European Championship runner up Niels Ladefoged.

Bluff Europe columnist Ben Jackson busted in sixth, unluckily shoving into Chris Bjorin's pocket aces. Nicola Lategano was the next to go, unable to hit an inside straight draw to beat Petersen's pocket queens. Long time chip leader Jamie Roberts busted in fourth when his AK didn't hold against Petersen's A10.

Surinder Sunar must surely have one of the longest entries on the Hendon Mob tournament database with cashes dating back to 1987. Wolverhampton's finest export since Steve Bull couldn't add another victory to that list though, busting in third at the hands of fellow veteran Bjorin.

Petersen went into heads up play with a 4.5 to 1 chip lead and despite a couple of double ups from his more experienced opponent, sealed the deal soon after. The final hand was a classic flip with Petersen's pocket nines holding against Bjorin's AK.

“It just came down to the cards and it was my day,” said a gracious victor.

EPO2012 Final Table Results

1. Mickey Petersen – £78,660
2. Chris Bjorin – £49,690
3. Surinder Sunar – £35,880
4. Jamie Roberts – £28,290
5. Nicola Lategano – £20,700
6. Ben Jackson – £15,180
7. Niels Ladefoged – £10,350
8. Thomas Laumier – £8,280
9. Igor Kurganov – £6,210

Image courtesy of English Poker Open.

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: English Poker Open 2012, Mickey Petersen, Chris Bjorin, Surinder Sunar, Ben Jackson