Michael Guttman takes Aussie Millions title

Michael Guttman takes Aussie Millions title

Wednesday, 23 January 2013

The latest event at the Aussie Millions Poker Championship has just come to a close with Michael Guttman being crowned the no-limit hold'em shootout champion after battling through a trio of tables.

Coming with a buy-in of $1,100, the third event of this year's Australian tournament series attracted a healthy field of 210 competitors, which meant that the 21 left after the end of the first round were battling it out for a $44,100 first place prize.

The simple 'beat your table and progress' premise played to the strengths of Guttman as he grinded out wins on his first two tables before cruising to victory in his third.

The event’s third and final table got off to a flying start with short-stacked Frank Tripodi moving all-in on the very first hand with pocket aces.

Unfortunately, he couldn’t find a caller and, although he managed to outlast David Heskin, Tripodi eventually hit the rail in eighth place.

A steady stream of action defined this table and by the time Guttman found himself heads-up with Shane Foglietta it didn’t take long before it was all over.

With a significant chip lead going into the battle, Guttman pressed home his advantage and in just a few hands the Australian circuit veteran managed to claim his fourth Aussie Millions ring.

Event Three Aussie Million Poker Championship results:

First: Michael Guttman - $44,100

Second: Shane Foglietta - $29,400

Third: Phillip Siddell - $23,100

Fourth: Daniel DiPasquale - $16,800

Fifth: Peter Longmore - $14,700

Sixth: Mark Malecha - $12,600

Seventh: Peter Evans - $10,500

Eighth: Frank Tripodi - $8,400

Ninth: David Heskin - $6,300

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: Aussie Millions Poker Championship, Michael Guttman, Shane Foglietta, Phillip Siddell