Matthew Haugen Heads WSOP Main Event

Matthew Haugen Heads WSOP Main Event

Saturday, 12 July 2014

The World Series of Poker Main Event field is down to just 291 with Matthew Haugen leading the charge for the $10m first prize.

The American built his stack to an impressive 2,808,000 by the close of day 4 putting him ahead of Zach Jiganti (2,364,000) and Griffin Benger (2,329,000) at the head of the chip counts. Joining them in the top ten are notables Dan Smith (2,229,000) and Brian Hastings (2,079,000).

Hopes for British glory remain strong too with 2014 bracelet winner John Kabbaj (1,200,000) well placed for another deep run. Kabbaj ended Phil Ivey's hopes of another WSOP title too, sending the 10-time bracelet winner to the rail in 430th when his pocket jacks beat Ivey's AK.

Other home players to keep an eye on include Craig McCorkell, Stuart Rutter, who survived a tense bubble (see below), Lee Taylor, Jerome Bradpiece and Louis Salter.

There was plenty of drama as the bubble burst. With 695 players left and only 693 set to cash, tournament director Jack Effel called for hand-for-hand action. Five players were simultaneously at risk with Steve Dwyer the first to go when his full house was crushed by Mark Newhouse's quads. Zhen Cai also busted when his pocket queens couldn't outrun Darren Keyes' aces.

To salvage anything, Dwyer and Cai would need one of the three remaining all in players to bust. Kori Hunter duly obliged and in the cruellest manner possible. The American's aces were cracked when Harry Kaczka rivered a second pair. The other two players at risk, Paul Tedeschi and Brit Stuart Rutter both survived meaning Dwyer, Cai and Hunter walked away with $6,135 apiece.

Other notables to bow out in the money included Phil Galfond, John Juanda, Faraz Jaka, Dermot Blain, John Eames, Abe Mosseri and Kenny Tran.

Play resumes at noon local time, (8pm in the UK) for five more levels of action.

The chip leaders are as follows:

1. Matthew Haugen – 2,808,000
2. Zach Jiganti – 2,364,000
3. Griffin Benger – 2,329,000
4. Michael Finstein – 2,316,000
5. Bruno Politano – 2,280,000
6. Dan Smith – 2,229,000
7. Andoni Larrabe – 2,195,000
8. Kyle Keranen – 2,157,000
9. Farid Jattin – 2,135,000
10. Brian Hastings – 2,079,000

Tags: WSOP 2014, John Kabbaj, Matthew Haugen, Griffin Benger