Matthew Ephraums wins Aussie Millions opener.

Matthew Ephraums wins Aussie Millions opener.

Monday, 18 January 2010

Four days after the first of a record-breaking 1,143 players took to the felt at Melbourne’s Crown Casino; we have a winner in the opening event of the Aussie Millions 2010 tournament series.

It took just one day for the 193 Day 1 survivors to be whittled down to one man – that man is Matthew Ephraums, who defeated Brendan Edmonds in heads-up play to take down the most populated poker tournament ever played on Australian soil.

Even without the additional rebuy rules, 914 players stumped up the $1,100 AUD necessary to compete. However, on Day 1c players from the opening flights could re-enter the tournament. With 229 extra entries due to this, the total number of entrants rocketed to 1,143 and took the prize pool to over $1m.

The complete list of final table placings and payouts is as follows:

1. Matthew Ephraums - $200,025 AUD
2. Brendan Edmonds - $142,875 AUD
3. Brent Thomas - $97,155 AUD
4. Trung Tran - $74,295 AUD
5. Glenn Croft - $57,150 AUD
6. Brad Rawiller - $45,720 AUD
7. Anthony Kingston - $34,290 AUD
8. Jim Mastorakos - $22,860 AUD
9. Aaron Wilt - $13,716 AUD

Tags: Poker News, Matthew, Ephraums, wins, Aussie, Millions, opener.