Marvin Rettenmaier leads star-studded WPT final nine

Marvin Rettenmaier leads star-studded WPT final nine

Thursday, 24 May 2012

Day 5 of the World Poker Tour World Championship began with 19 players; we were on the bubble until Josh Arieh was eliminated in 19th place after his AJ couldn’t outrun KK. With that we had a dramatic road to the final nine culminating in a new Player of the Year leader.

Joe Serock finished on the final table bubble in tenth place, overtaking Will Failla in the Player of the Year race. However, Moon Kim at the final table can better him with a third place showing.

Leading the way is PartyPoker’s newest pro “Mad” Marvin Rettenmaier. He is just ahead of Michael “The Grinder” Mizrachi in second place and they are joined in the final nine by Hafiz Khan, Moon Kim, Nick Schulman and Steve O’Dwyer. Tonight they play down to a six-handed TV final table.

The chip stacks going into the penultimate day are as follows:

1 Marvin Rettenmaier 3,757,000
2 Michael Mizrachi 3,124,000
3 Steve O'Dwyer 1,643,000
4 Hafiz Khan 1,641,000
5 Nick Schulman 1,350,000
6 Moon Kim 1,139,000
7 Philippe Ktorza 977,000
8 Trevor Pope 800,000
9 Wil Wilkinson 705,000

Tags: World Poker Tour, WPT Championship, Marvin Rettenmaier, Michael Mizrachi, Steve O'Dwyer, hafiz Khan, Nick Schulman