Lyons Roars at IPO Dublin

Lyons Roars at IPO Dublin

Wednesday, 23 October 2013

Delivering at the right time is pretty important if you're a postman and Irish postie Donie Lyons' timing was just as good at the poker table as it is on his round after taking BoylePoker's International Poker Open.

The final day at Dublin's Regency Airport Hotel started with just 15 of the 1,373 starters left and it didn't take long for that number to be reduced to an official final table of eight.

Irish pro Alan Daly was the first finalist to depart, losing a flip with 33 against Alan McGinn's AK. Michael Murray was the next to hit the rail and he can certainly consider himself unlucky. The Dublin cabbie looked in great shape for a double up with pocket kings against Andrew Hall's A10 but running hearts gave the Englishman an unlikely backdoor flush.

After Cathal Shine busted in sixth the final five went into a conflab, the result of which was a chop that would see each player guaranteed at least €25,000. The trophy and the remaining €14,485 would go to the eventual winner.

With the tournament effectively becoming a winner take all affair the atmosphere really warmed up with the first elimination coming just 15 minutes later. Waterford poker dealer Mustafa Gultekin was the man to go when his short stacked shove with Q9 couldn't outrun Kenny Nyhus' A8.

Omagh butcher Alan McGinnhit the rail in fourth losing a flip with AJ against Lyons' pocket 55s. Kenny Nyhus followed moments later and again AJ was prove unfortunate. The Swede was well in front against Hall's K8, especially after a 2-3-3 flop. A king on the turn changed everything though and with no miracle ace on the river it was goodnight for Nyhus.

Donie Lyons went into heads up play with a big chip lead and it didn't take him long to put that advantage to good use. After a shove from Hall, Lyons made the call with 88s which were in good shape against the Yorkshireman's A2. The 3QQ9K board helped neither player giving Lyons the title and the extra €14,485.

The final table positions and payouts were as follows:

1 €39,485 – Donie Lyons
2 €25,000 – Andrew Hall
3 €25,000 – Kenny Nyhus
4 €25,000 – Alan McGinn
5 €25,000 – Mustafa Gultekin
6 €10,300 – Cathal Shine
7 €7,550 – Michael Murray
8 €5,490 – Alan Daly
9 €3,985 – Kevin Falk

The IPO returns early next year with the opening event of 2014 taking place in Galway in February. Later stops follow in London, Killarney, Newcastle and Dublin. Qualifiers will be up and running at

Image and tournament details courtesy of BoylePoker.

Tags: International Poker Open Dublin, Donie Lyons, Andrew Hall