Lightbourne Lights Up Unibet Open

Lightbourne Lights Up Unibet Open

Monday, 1 December 2014

Iaron Lightbourne has capped what had already been an amazing year by claiming the Unibet Open London title.

The Londoner finished 22nd in this year's World Series of Poker Main Event and also enjoyed a very deep run at the WPT Borgata Open. The one thing mising from his tournament CV was a big win and he put that right after taking the honours at Aspers Casino in Stratford on Sunday.

Lightbourne topped a record-breaking field of 399 runners in the Unibet Open's 30th edition special and walked away with an impressive score of £70,000.

Tim van de Riet started the final table with the chip lead but it soom became the Lightbourne show after he elminated two-time Unibet Open finalist Tomasz Kozub and Lawrie Inman in quick succession.

Van de Riet's challenge stalled in seventh and the Dutchman was soon joined on the rail by countryman Paulo Rodrigues. In addition to the £13,500 prize, Rodriques also walked away with a bonus €1100 after winning the Last Longer contest.

The super-aggro Lightbourne ended Lucas Oliver's run in fifth with Janos Kurtosi joining him soon after at the cashiers' cage when his K3 couldn't outrun Babis Lappas' A6. The Greek left the feature table in third place, £30,000 to the good, after losing a flip with pocket tens against the red-hot Lightbourne's AK.

Going into heads up play with Mike 'Da Bookie' Hill with a big chip lead, it didn't take Lightbourne long to claim his first major title. He was once again on the right side of a flip, this time with KJ against Hill's pocket nines. A king on the flop gave the youngster the title and a lovely pre-Christmas bonus of £70,000. Hill pocketed £45,000 for his runner up finish.

That brings the 2014 Unibet Open season to a close. Roll on 2015!

Unibet Open London Final Table Payouts

1 Iaron Lightbourne UK £70000
2 Michael Hill UK £45000
3 Charalampos Lappas Greece £30000
4 Janos Kurtosi Hungary £22000
5 Lucas Oliver UK £16800
6 Paulo Rodrigues Netherlands £13500
7 Tim Van De Riet Netherlands £11000
8 Lawrie Inman UK £8800
9 Tomasz Kozub Poland £6700

Tags: Unibet Open London, Iaron Lightbourne