Josh Hale wins WPT Legends of Poker

Josh Hale wins WPT Legends of Poker

Thursday, 30 August 2012

Josh Hale has been crowned the WPT Legends of Poker champion after outlasting a 622 runner field at the Bicycle Casino in Los Angeles. The professional head hunter went into the final table of six as the massive chip leader but Hale's route to success was hardly straightforward.

That was understandable enough given the quality of a final table that featured Jeff Madsen, Greg Mueller, Ali Eslami and Raouf Malek. That high class line up was eliminated in succession by 2012 WSOP bracelet winner Max Steinberg who steamrollered his way to a heads up chip lead of 14.14m to 4.5m over Hale. The underdog wasn't to be intimidated though, doubling up early in the heads up clash with a rivered flush. Victory was sealed soon after with Hale on the right end of a flip with pocket jacks against Steinberg's AK.

The final table positions and payouts were as follows:

1. Josh Hale  -  $500,000
2. Max Steinberg  -  $293,490
3. Raouf Malek  -  $192,400
4. Ali Eslami  -  $133,700
5. Greg Mueller  -  $97,100
6. Jeff Madsen  -  $75,400

The next stop on the WPT calendar is the Grand Prix de Paris which runs from 10th to 15th September.

Tags: Josh Hale, WPT Legends of Poker, Max Steinberg, Raouf Malek, Ali Eslami, Greg Mueller, Jeff Madsen