John Hennigan wins WSOP $50k Players' Championship

John Hennigan wins WSOP $50k Players' Championship

Friday, 27 June 2014

It was a case of third time lucky for John Hennigan in the WSOP $50k Players' Championship.

The American had cashed in the two previous Players' Championship but went all the way this time to scoop his third bracelet and his second career seven-figure pay day.

The final day's action started with eight players chasing the $1.5m first prize with Allen Kesler the first to go after whiffing on a flush draw in the stud hi-lo against Abe Mosseri.

Melissa Burr, the first woman to cash in the $50k Players' Championship, exited next after running into Hennigan's quad aces. Hennigan was the vanquisher once again when 2010 WSOP Player of the Year Frank Kassela departed in sixth.

After Chun Zhou and long-time chip leader Abe Mosseri hit the rail in fifth and fourth respectively the pace slowed down significantly and it took five hours for three to become two when Jesse Martin finally succumbed.

Hennigan started heads up play with the red hot Brandon Shack-Harris with a healthy chip lead and slowly ground his opponent down until he was forced to take a stand with K7 in a round of NLHE. A10 was plenty good enough for Hennigan to make the call which held to give 'Johnny World' the bracelet, the Chip Reese Memorial Trophy and a first prize of $1,517,767.

Shack-Harris' latest impressive run follows first, second and third place finishes at this year's WSOP and puts him just behind George Danzer in the race for Player of the Year.

There was little time for Hennigan to celebrate though as the 43-year-old jumped straight into the $10,000 Limit Hold'em Championship event.
We're loving your style John!

The final table positions and payouts were as follows:

1st: John Hennigan - $1,517,767
2nd: Brandon Shack-Harris - $937,975
3rd: Jesse Martin - $594,570
4th: Abe Mosseri - $402,696
5th: Chun Lei Zhou - $286,122
6th: Frank Kassela - $212,829
7th: Melissa Burr - $165,435

Tags: WSOP 2014, John Hennigan, Brandon Shack-Harris, Jesse Martin, Abe Mosseri, Chun Zhou, Frank Kassela, Melissa Burr, $50k Players' Championship