James Mitchell wins Irish Open 2010

James Mitchell wins Irish Open 2010

Tuesday, 6 April 2010

Poker really is turning into a young man's game. The latest young gun to take a major trophy is 20-year-old James Mitchell who yesterday won the Paddy Power Irish Poker Open 2010 for a score of €600,000.

The Londoner navigated his way through a field of 707 runners to take the earn the biggest payday in his fledgling career. Mitchell has been close to major success before now though, finishing runner up to Bambos Xanthos in last year's World Heads Up Championship as well as having some deep runs in GUKPT events.

Starting the final table in third place the 20-year-old suffered an early setback, losing half his stack early on. He rode his luck the rest of the way though to set up a heads up battle with home favourite Paul Carr. It looked like the trophy would be staying on home soil after Carr had managed to get all the chips in the middle holding pocket queens on a Kc9d3d7h board, well ahead of Mitchell who was holding As6s. A miraculous ace dropped on the river leaving the rail stunned and Mitchell in pole position for victory.

The end came shortly afterwards with Mitchell raising his button holding Ah8h. Carr holding Qs5d made the call. The Irishman checked the JcJd8c board and Mitchell bet 205,000. Carr shoved and Mitchell made the call. The 4s and 8s on the turn and river gave Carr no help leaving Mitchell with the Terry Rogers Memorial Trophy and the small matter of €600,000.

Robert Sherwood also had reason to celebrate. As the highest finishing Paddy Power Poker qualifier he won the Sole Survivor promotion and with it a prize package worth €100,000.

The final table positions and payouts were as follows:

1st James Mitchell -- €600,000
2nd Paul Carr -- €312,600
3rd Santeri Valikoski -- €205,200
4th Rob Sherwood -- €163,300
5th Ben Roberts -- €130,600
6th Edmund Sweeney -- €100,800
7th Declan Connolly -- €75,000
8th Peter Murphy -- €56,300
9th Yann Dion -- €37,700

Tags: Poker News, James, Mitchell, wins, Irish, Open, 2010