Irish Poker Awards winners announced

Irish Poker Awards winners announced

Monday, 22 October 2012

Eoghan O'Dea has scooped the top prize at this year's Irish Poker Awards. Last year's World Series of Poker Main Event finalist claimed the Player of the Year award at a star-studded ceremony at the Regency Hotel in Dublin last night.

Organised by Bluff Europe in association with, the awards honour the players and administrators that help make Ireland one of the best places in the world to play poker.

Others who collected trophies from Bluff Europe editor Philip Conneller and co-host Neil Channing were recent EPT San Remo finalist Jason Tompkins who won the Best Tournament Player award and Jude Ainsorth who was voted Best Online Player.

Chris Dowling took the Best Cash Player Award with the Fitzwilliam Club taking the honours in the Best Cardroom category. After two wins last year, the ever entertaining Padraig Parkinson made it a hat-trick of awards after winning the Irish Poker Legend honour.

The full list of winners can be seen below:

Cash player – Chris Dowling
Tournament Player – Jason Tomkins
Online Player – Jude Ainsworth
Breakout player – Niall Smyth
Poker Personality – Phil Baker
Forum –
Blogger – Dara O’Kearney
Tournament director – JP McCann
Soc Media – Dara O’Kearney
Player of the Year – Eoghan O’Dea
Cardroom - Fitzwilliam Club
Legend – Padraig Parkinson

The nominees were chosen by a panel of industry experts with the general public making the final decision.

Tags: Irish Poker Awards, Eoghan O'Dea, Padraig Parkinson, Jude Ainsworth