Galen Hall leads WPT Championship final table

Galen Hall leads WPT Championship final table

Thursday, 19 May 2011

The World Poker Tour $25,000 Championship event has reduced the starting field of 220 players to a final six for the televised final table. Leading the way is current PokerStars Caribbean Adventure champion Galen Hall, followed closely by Scott Seiver.

Between the two Hall and Seiver have almost half the chips with more than 5,000,000 apiece. Hall leads Seiver by just four antes, less than one small blind. Behind the two leaders is Tony “The Other Tony G” Gargano on 3.9m while Justin Young is the shortstack, albeit with almost thirty big blinds on 1.75m.

Hall became known in the poker world just four months ago when he defeated Chris Oliver heads-up to win the 2011 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Main Event for $2.3m. He’s on his way to a Seidel-esque year after a final table at the €25,000 High Roller at the EPT Grand Final as well as a runner-up finish to Jason Mercier in the Champion of Champions event.

The final table plays out tomorrow at 4pm local time, so roughly midnight for us normal folks not in Las Vegas. Also of note is the fact that, with the elimination of Sam El Sayed, Andy Frankenberger is the WPT Season IX Player of the Year after a win in Los Angeles, a final table at the Festa al Lago and another cash at the lengthily-named Doyle Brunson Five Diamond World Poker Classic.

The final table chip counts and seating assignments shape up as follows:

Seat 1.  Galen Hall  -  5,095,000  (84 BBs)
Seat 2.  Justin Young  -  1,750,000  (29 BBs)
Seat 3.  Tony Gargano  -  3,550,000  (59 BBs)
Seat 4.  Roger Teska  -  3,600,000  (60 BBs)
Seat 5.  Scott Seiver  -  5,075,000  (84 BBs)
Seat 6.  Freddy Bonyadi  -  2,470,000  (41 BBs)

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: WPT Championship, Galen Hall, Scott Seiver, Andy Frankenberger, Tony Gargano