Fiachra Meere wins the Irish Masters

Fiachra Meere wins the Irish Masters

Wednesday, 29 October 2008

Irishman Fiachra Meere has won the Paddy Power Poker Irish Masters at the Winter Festival.

Meere outlasted 423 others to claim the title, defeating Chris Wood heads-up to secure his €150,000 first prize. Wood collected €106,000 as the runner-up.

There was something quite unique about these two gents, as both of them won their way into the tournament for precisely nothing. Meere won his seat to the tournament at his local cardroom's freeroll, while Wood won his way in through a Paddy Power Poker online freeroll.

The final standings and payouts were as follows:

1st Fiachra Meere -- €150,000
2nd Chris Wood -- €106,000
3rd John Rafferty -- €68,500
4th David Poole -- €57,000
5th Peter Murphy -- €48,700
6th Jamie Zambuni -- €40,500.
7th Andreas Schippani -- €24,000
8th Warren Woodall -- €17,180

Tags: Poker News, Fiachra, Meere, wins, the, Irish, Masters