European Poker Awards nominations announced

European Poker Awards nominations announced

Wednesday, 5 January 2011

2010 was a tremendous year for British poker so it's no surprise to see players from Blighty well represented in the European Poker Awards nominations which were announced yesterday.

The ceremony takes place on 13th February in Paris with big names such as Liv Boeree, Jake Cody, Chris Moorman, James Bord, David Vamplew and Toby Lewis all in contention for gongs. As well as awards for the top players the cream of poker staff will also be recognised with Mad Marty Wilson, Simon Trumper and UKIPT director Kirsty Thompson up for the Poker Staff Person of the Year award. There is also a Poker Personality of the Year award that will be won by Jesse May, Tony G or Big Deal author Anthony Holden.

The full list of nominations is as follows:

Player of the Year
Theo Jorgensen (Denmark)
Jake Cody (England)
Sam Trickett (England)
Vladimir Schemelev (Russia)

Poker staff person of the year
Marty Wilson of Matchroom Sport (England)
Simon Trumper, Dusk Till Dawn (England)
Thomas Kremser, TK Events (Austria)
Gerard Serra Retamero ,TK Events (Spain)
Kirsty Thompson, president of the UKIPT ( England)

Internet Player of the Year
Chris Moorman (England)
Patrik Antonius (Finland)
Mickey Petersen (Denmark)
Ilsidur (n/a)
Andreas Torbergsen (Norway)

Outstanding tournament performance
James Bord (England)
Jake Cody (England)
Fillipo Candio (Italy)
Liv Boeree (England)
Tobias Rinkemeier (Germany)
David Vamplew (Scotland)

Europe’s Leading Lady
Liv Boeree (England)
Annette Obrestadt (Norway)

Rookie of the Year
Jake Cody (England)
David Vamplew (Scotland)
Toby Lewis (England)
Julian Herold (Germany)
Fernando Brito (Portugal)

Rob Gardner Memorial Award for the Poker Personality of 2010
Jesse May (Denmark/USA)
Tony Guoga (Lithuania)
Anthony Holden (England)

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: Poker News, European, Poker, Awards, nominations, announced