European Poker Awards Nominations Announced

European Poker Awards Nominations Announced

Tuesday, 1 January 2013

Sam Trickett dominated proceedings at the 2012 British Poker Awards and the high stakes legend is up for more honours at the continental equivalent.

Organisers have announced the nominations for the 2013 European Poker Awards and Retford's finest is up for the Best Tournament Performance award. The leader of the European Global Poker Index rankings, Marvin Rettenmaier, has already scooped the Player of the Year Award.

Other big names in contention in the nine categories include Chris Moorman, Viktor Blom, Gus Hansen, Tony G and Ilari Sahamies.

The ceremony, which will be hosted by Kara Scott, takes place at the Elysee Biarritz in Paris on 22 January 2013 as part of the Euro Finals of Poker series in the French capital. The winners will be selected by a panel chaired by Nic Szeremeta, the creator of the event. The other judges are Stephan Gollubits, Jérôme Schmidt, Barry Carter, Joe Beevers, Alexandre Dreyfus, Michael Michelin and Jesse May.

The full list of nominations is as follows:

Rookie of the Year - Gaëlle Baumann, Lucille Cailly, Aubin Cazals and Ole Schemion

Best Tournament Performance - Davidi Kitai, Rocco Palumbo, Marvin Rettenmaier, Ole Schemion and Sam Trickett

Europe's Leading Lady - Gaëlle Baumann, Liv Boeree, Lucille Cailly and Elisabeth Hille

Internet Player of the Year - Viktor Blom, Jens Kyllönen, Chris Moorman and Ilari Sahamies

Poker Staff Person of the Year - Dave Brannan, Nicolas Fraioli, Neil Johnson and Simon Trumper

Rob Gardner Memorial Award for the Poker Personality of the Year -
Neil Channing, Bertrand "Elky" Grospellier, Tony Guoga, Gus Hansen, Marvin Rettenmaier and Kara Scott

Best European Event of the Year - EPT Barcelona, Irish Poker Open, Prague Poker Festival and WSOPE Cannes

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: European Poker Awards, Sam Trickett, Marvin Rettenmaier