Edgars Augstkalns wins European Masters of Poker finale

Edgars Augstkalns wins European Masters of Poker finale

Tuesday, 22 November 2011

The 2012 European Masters of Poker season drew to a close in Riga over the weekend and there was plenty of the home rail to cheer with Edgars Augstkalns taking the honours.

The Latvian worked his way through a 175-runner field before overturning a five to one chip deficit to beat Sweden's Joakim Fredriksson heads up. Augstkalns needed a bit of luck to seal the win though, spiking a jack holding KJ to beat the Swede's AK.

The final table positions and payouts were as follows:

1. Edgars Augstkalns (Latvia) -- €57,491
2. Joakim Fredriksson (Sweden) -- €39,993
3. Maris Keiriss (Latvia) -- €29,994
4. Martin Dahlqvist (Sweden) -- €22,496
5. Eduards Rakuss (Latvia) -- €14,997
6. Simon Lofberg (Sweden) -- €11,872
7. Anton Astapau (Bulgaria) -- €9,373
8. Branko Stupar (Sweden) -- €7,498
9. Kimmo Kurko (Finland) -- €5,623

The European Masters of Poker Tour will be back next year with five stops already confirmed starting in Prague from 2nd to 5th February. Further legs are scheduled for Lisbon, Bulgaria, Barcelona and Dublin.

Tags: Edgars Augstkalns, European Masters of Poker, Joakim Fredriksson