Darren Elias' WPT Caribbean Triumph

Darren Elias' WPT Caribbean Triumph

Saturday, 8 November 2014

Darren Elias has made World Poker Tour history, becoming the first player to win back-to-back WPT Main Events in the same season.

The American pro followed up his win at the WPT Borgata Open in September by taking down the WPT Caribbean event in St Maarten on Friday.

Elias went into the final table second in the chip counts but way behind leader Christophe Rosso who had more chips than the rest of the field combined.

The day got off to a rapid start with Dan Murariu the first to go just 15 hands in. He was joined on the rail two hands later by Ziga Jamnikar with Mike Linster following suit minutes later. The final table carnage continued with George Griffith hitting the rail in fourth when his K10 couldn't hold against Rosso's Q6.

Rosso started heads-up play with a massive four-to-one chip lead but a couple of early double ups swung the momentum back in Elias' direction. In the end it took over 100 hands of heads up play to crown a winner.

Rosso moved all in with 7d6s and was looked up by Elias who was sitting with two black aces. With just the river to come, Rosso looked set for a big double up on a 10h6h5c7c board. Another five on the river gave Elias the better two pair though and with it the $127,680 first prize, a seat in the WPT Championship and a place in the record books.

Marvin Rettenmaier became the first player to ever win back-to-back WPT events, winning the Season X WPT World Championship and the Season XI WPT Merit Cyprus Classic in 2012.

WPT Caribbean Main Event Results

1. Darren Elias $127,680
2. Christophe Rosso $64,900
3. George Griffith $42,100
4. Mike Linster $28,950
5. Ziga Jamnikar $22,280
6. Dan Murariu $17,370

Tags: Darren Elias, WPT Caribbean, World Poker Tour