Daniel Stacey Bags UKIPT Title

Daniel Stacey Bags UKIPT Title

Monday, 5 October 2015

The Isle Of Man stop of the UK And Ireland Poker Tour (UKIPT) from PokerStars is one of the more intimate stops on the poker calendar and Daniel Stacey is celebrating after taking down its main event title for £24,170 ($36,717).

After welcoming 238 entrants, the Isle Of Man main event began its final day on Sunday with Paren Arzoomanian holding a comfortable chip lead.

After outlasting the likes of Jake Cody, Liv Boeree and Bluff Europe's own Dara O'Kearney, Arzoomanian started the finale full of confidence. Indeed, after taking out Elliott Hayes within a few rounds it looked as though Arzoomanian would be taking home the title.

Unfortunately, the poker gods had a different idea and as players began to fall by the wayside he gradually saw the shadow of Stacey's stack encroaching onto his side of the table. In fact, after Michael Fletcher was dismissed in third, a flurry of action saw Stacey draw level Arzoomanian.

At that point the pair agreed to take £19,000 ($28,860) each before playing for the trophy and remaining £5,170 ($7,853). With enough incentive to continue fighting, neither player was willing to give up and the subsequent match lasted for more than four hours.

The increasing blinds and run of variance eventually ensured things were brought to a conclusion. With Arzoomanian turning a straight and Stacey hitting two pair, the players put their stacks across the line and as the 9d fell on the river it gave the latter a full house and the final pot.

After soaking up the applause, an ecstatic Stacey posed with his UKIPT Isle Of Man trophy and celebrated one of the biggest wins of his career.

UKIPT Isle Of Man Main Event Result:

1 Daniel Stacey - £24,170

2 Paren Arzoomanian - £19,000

3 Michael Fletcher - £12,560

4 Rodger Reynolds - £10,170

5 John Lawson - £8,020

6 Christopher Swinden - £6,120

7 James Walsh - £4,500

8 Elliott Hayes - £3,307

Tags: UK And Ireland Poker Tour, UKIPT, PokerStars, Daniel Stacey, Isle Of Man, Paren Arzoomanian, Jake Cody, Liv Boeree, Dara O'Kearney, Michael Fletcher, Rodger Reynolds, John Lawson, Christopher Swinden, James Walsh, Elliott Hayes