Chris Moorman Wins LA Poker Classic

Chris Moorman Wins LA Poker Classic

Friday, 7 March 2014

He's arguably the best online tournament player that's ever lived, but since making the transition to the live arena Chris Moorman has struggled to capture same volume of titles he's achieved in the virtual world.

Over the years the British pro has racked up a number of near misses and finished 2nd on a number of occasions, including at the 2011 WSOPE. However, Moorman's penchant for falling just short changed earlier today when he captured his first WPT title.

After grinding his was past 534 players in the $10,000 L.A. Poker Classic Main Event, Chris eventually crushed the final table with his trademark style of aggressive poker.

The session started with Moorman trailing Michael Rocco's 5 million+ chip stack but as the session wore on and the likes of Adam Friedman and Patrick Bruel hit the rail it was the Brit who thrived.

With only three players left, however, it looked as though Glenn Lafaye would be the man coming out on top. However, a three-way all-in eventually saw Moorman get a timely double-up and Rocco hit the rail.

Indeed, following a raise from Lafaye, and an all-in from both Rocco and Moorman, Lafaye made the call and when the flop rolled out Kh Qs Jh it was Moorman who was in trouble with Tc Ts against Lafaye's Qd Jd and Rocco's Ac 8d.

However, as the 3s and As fell on the turn and river a straight for Moorman gave him a massive pot and the chance to play heads-up for the title.

After a back-and-forth exchange with Lafaye, Moorman eventually clinched the final pot when his pocket aces faded Lafaye's straight draw with 5s 4d.

Having claimed his maiden major trophy, an ecstatic Moorman celebrated with his friends before packing up his winner's cheque worth $1,015,460.

$10,000 WPT LAPC Final Result:
1st: Chris Moorman - $1,015,460
2nd: Glenn Lafaye - $662,840
3rd: Michael Rocco - $423,440
4th: Patrick Bruel - $332,190
5th: Josh Neufeld - $264,520
6th: Adam Friedman - $200,440

Tags: Chris Moorman, LA Poker Classic, Glenn Lafaye, Michael Rocco