Brits dominate European Poker Awards

Brits dominate European Poker Awards

Tuesday, 15 February 2011

2010 was an amazing year for British poker and that was reflected in the voting at the European Poker Awards in Paris on Sunday which saw no fewer than five of the eight prizes going to players from these shores.

It was a night of double success for former Bluff Europe cover star Jake Cody who was named the Player of the Year as well as the Rookie of the Year. Liv Boeree beat Annette Obresrtad, Leo Margets and Vanessa Hellebuyck to be named Europe's Leading Lady with James Bord winning the Outstanding Tournament Performance Award for his win at the WSOPE Main Event. Nic Szeremeta took the Lifetime Achievement award.

The other winners on the night were Andreas Torbergsen who was named Internet Player of the Year, Gerard Serra Retamero who was Poker Staff Person of the Year and Lithuanian-born Tony G who won the Rob Gardner Memorial Award for the Poker Personality of the Year.

Guouga said, “I was really happy to win and congratulate all the others who picked up awards too. The fact that the award was in memorial of Rob Gardner, a man who all of us in poker have to thank made it even more special.”

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: Poker News, Brits, dominate, European, Poker, Awards