Boatman tops weekend’s WSOP winners

Boatman tops weekend’s WSOP winners

Monday, 1 July 2013

Whenever a British player makes it to the final table of a WSOP event the support from the rail is always impressive.

A sense of a national camaraderie seems to descend on the UK poker fraternity when one of our own is vying for a bracelet and on Sunday that was certainly the case as Barny Boatman claimed his first title.

Having made his way past 2,246 players in Event #49, a $1,500 buy-in no-limit hold‘em affair, Boatman enjoyed an emotional wave of support after he beat Brian O’Donoghue heads-up to bank $546,080 and his first WSOP bracelet.

The win marked the Hendon Mobster’s first significant cash for a few years and the celebrations soon overwhelmed the hallways of the Rio.

While Boatman was bagging some bling, a host of other champions were also enjoying their time in the spot light. On Saturday it was Marco Johnson’s turn to smile as he finally turned a final table appearance into a victory in the $2,500 buy-in limit hold‘em six-handed Event #48.

Faced with a tough final table, the American soon overcame the likes of Mario Ho and Juha Helppi to scoop the $206,796 top prize.

As Sunday’s action got underway, Anthony Gregg was the first to secure a memorable win in The Big One For One Drop high roller. Despite much of the pre-final attention being focused on Antonio Esfandiari, Gregg emerged from under the radar to scoop the $4,830,619 top prize after beating Chris Klodnicki heads-up.

Rounding off the weekend’s winners was Brandon Wong. Proving his poker dexterity in the $2,500 ten-game mix six-handed Event #50, Wong was able to make light work of the UK’s Sebastian Saffari to win a WSOP bracelet and $22,061.

Final results from WSOP Event #49 ($1,500 buy-in no-limit hold‘em ):

1 Barny Boatman $546,080

2 Brian O'Donoghue $338,745

3 Van Tran $239,339

4 Taras Kripps $172,087

5 Aditya Prasetyo $125,372

6 Robin Ylitalo $92,550

7 Paul Dasilva $69,192

8 Noah Sandler $52,387

9 Roger Lussier $40,162

Tags: WSOP, The Big One For One Drop, Barny Boatman, Marco Johnson, Brian O’Donoghue, Mario Ho, Anthony Gregg, Juha Helppi, Antonio Esfandiari, Chris Klodnicki, Brandon Wong, Sebastian Saffari