Atanas Kavrakov Claims WPT Cyprus

Atanas Kavrakov Claims WPT Cyprus

Tuesday, 27 January 2015

Despite the bulk of this year's MTT mob currently being out in Australia for the Aussie Millions, a strong field of 172 entrants still took part in the latest partypoker sponsored WPT event in Cyprus.

Kicking off late last week, the €1,800+€200 event saw host of local talent take on a travelling contingent of European pros. However, when the betting was over and it was time to crown a winner, the Cypriots weren't able to hold off the advances Atanas Kavrakov.

After making the flight from his home country of Bulgaria, Kavrakov found himself in a strong position heading into the final session Monday. Despite needing to bypass a few players before the official final table was set (12 hopefuls started the day), Kavrakov was able to hold his nerve and push forward as the field gradually whittled its way down to six.

At the start of the final table, Kavrakov was by no means the overwhelming leader, but as the likes of Ercan Olgun, Kemal Sevevi and Jacques Torbey fell by the wayside, he was able to secure his position heads-up against Majid Ejlal Noubarian.

Although a slight chip disadvantage forced Kavrakov into a tentative start, the Bulgarian soon got into his stride. After securing a 2:1 chip lead, the victory started to look likely as he pressed the action.
Eventually, after pushing Noubarian to breaking point, Kavrakov was able to capture his first WPT title in style after his pocket kings connected with the 6c Kc Ks Th Ad to make quads.

With Noubarian's As Td unable to top Kavrakov's mammoth hand, the final pot was pushed towards the Bulgarian, as was the winner's trophy and a stack of cash worth €75,000.

WPT Cyprus Main Event Final Result:

1. Atanas Kavrakov - €75,000
2. Majid Ejlal Noubarian - €52,300
3. Jacques Torbey - €33,500
4. Marco Della Tommasina - €24,800
5. Vitalii Grekul - €18,700
6. Kemal Sevevi - €14,900
7. Vasili Kesnin - €12,312
8. Ercan Olgun - €9,900

Tags: WPT National Cyprus, World Poker Tour, Atanas Kavrakov