Abe Mosseri heads $25K WPT Championship

Abe Mosseri heads $25K WPT Championship

Monday, 16 May 2011

At the end of Day 2 at Bellagio just 118 of the 220 starters at the $25k WPT Championship Event are still in contention with Abe Mosseri leading the chase for the $1,618,333 first prize.

The rest of the field is absolutely stacked though with the likes of Erik Seidel, WSOP November Niner Joseph Cheong, Doyle Brunson, Phil Hellmuth, Phil Laak, Allen Cunningham, Phil Galfond, Yevgeniy Timoshenko, Kenny Tran, Barry Greenstein and defending champion David Williams all still very much in contention.

Jake Cody heads a strong British challenge with Roberto Romanello and Sam Trickett also making it through to Day 3.

Numbers were up by 25 on last year's WPT Championship meaning a whopping prize pool of $5,309,500 this time around which will be shared by the top 27 finishers.

Keep up to date with all the news from the poker world by following us on Twitter and Facebook.

Tags: WPT Championship, Abe Mosseri, Erik Seidel, Sam Trickett, Jake Cody, Phil Hellmuth, Phil Galfond, Doyle Brunson